Home » 2022 Women’s Rodeo World Championship final athlete roster announced

2022 Women’s Rodeo World Championship final athlete roster announced

by Chris Dize
0 comment

FORT WORTH, Texas – Ahead of the 2022 Women’s Rodeo World Championship (WRWC), scheduled to storm the Fort Worth Stockyards, at the Cowtown Coliseum May 16-18, the organization has announced the final roster of 179 female rodeo athletes set to compete.

The WRWC is the largest event purse in the history of women’s rodeo and will pay out more than $750,000 in 2022 while crowning World Champions in both the Pro and Challenger classifications in the following disciplines; Team Roping (Heading and Heeling), Breakaway Roping and Barrel Racing.

Each WRWC Event Champion will take home a minimum of $60,000 while the All-Around Champion will collect a $20,000 cash bonus. The WRWC is a culmination of a year-long race of women’s rodeo events worldwide.

The third edition of the WRWC will make its debut at the Cowtown Coliseum in Fort Worth May 16-18 in conjunction with the PBR World Finals with a roster comprised of 51 barrel racers, 42 team roping pairs, and 44 breakaway ropers.

All qualifying rounds of competition will be held May 16-17. The top four in each discipline, from their respective classification, will advance to the May 18 Showdown Round.

The top three ladies from each discipline in the Showdown Round will progress to the Triple Crown of Rodeo Round, which will be broadcast on a live CBS Sports Network Broadcast at 7:30 p.m. CT.  A complete tentative schedule of events is listed below:

May 16
Disciplines Round
Barrel Racing Qualifying Round
Breakaway Roping Qualifying Round 1
Team Roping Qualifying Round 1
May 17
Disciplines Round
Breakaway Roping Qualifying Round 2
Team Roping Qualifying Round 2
All Disciplines Semi-Final Round
May 18
All Disciplines Showdown Round
All Disciplines Triple Crown of Rodeo Round

In the 2021 main event, the 2020 Breakaway Roping World Champion Madison Outhier (Utopia, Texas) surged to the top of the leaderboard to win her second breakaway roping world championship. The 18-year-old became the first two-time champion in the event’s history. In barrel racing, Rainey Skelton (Llano, Texas) was crowned the 2021 Women’s Rodeo Barrel Racing World Champion. The then 17-year-old made her WRWC debut and delivered a jaw-dropping 15.229 push through the South Point Arena course which propelled her to the top of WRWC competition.

The team roping duo Lari Dee Guy (Abilene, TX) and Jimmi Jo Montera (Greeley, Colorado) backed into the box and logged a historic run for all-female team ropers, notching a 5.95-second effort. The pair took home $60,000 individually, a Jesse Jaymes Silversmith’s buckle and a Women’s Rodeo World Champion Title.

Shelby Boisjoli (Stephenville, TX) earned the 2021 Women’s Rodeo World Champion All-Around Cowgirl title. She won a $20,000 bonus and a custom saddle donated by Coats Saddlery, after earning 1,494 points during the three-day event along with nearly $64,000 in additional prize money. The Canadian cowgirl, who has over $73,000 in career earnings with the WCRA, made history in Green Bay, WI during the WCRA Title Town Stampede when she faced off against sister Makayla in the shootout round, where she captured the title and $50,000 in prize money.

Fans can watch the historic event on PlutoTV (Ridepass, Channel 720) May 16-17 while the May 18 Showdown and Triple Crown of Rodeo Round will be live on a CBS Sports Network Broadcast at 7:30 p.m. CT

May 18 tickets are on sale now and start at $20. They can be purchased at the Cowtown Coliseum Box Office or online at cowtowncoliseum.com.

Article Courtesy of WRWC

You may also like

Leave a Comment

American Buckle Magazine is the premier online destination for all things rodeo and western lifestyle. Featuring athlete interviews, in-depth analysis, podcasts, videos and high-quality branded content, the site aims to transform the relationship between rodeo athletes and their fans by providing unique ways to connect.

Copyright 2019 American Buckle Magazine a 1 Source Media Company